Happy families are all alike… Leo Tolstoy


Christmas is one of the happiest times of the year and we want to share it with our blog readers.

Margaret Edythe Young with her daughter Laureene on the porch of their house on Avenue O in Galveston in 1916

Margaret Edythe Bettencourt with her daughter Laureene on the porch of their house on Avenue O in Galveston in 1916

 

Laureene Bettencourt sitting on the lawn in front of John Young's - her grandfather - house on Avenue L at Christmas 1917

Laureene Bettencourt sitting on the lawn in front of John Young’s – her grandfather – house on Avenue L at Christmas 1917

 

StMarys

This blog’s author on the left with Sister Laurenzia and Baby Linda at the back door of St. Mary’s Orphanage in Galveston. John Young had helped found the orphanage and his daughter – Margaret Edythe Young’s sister, Laureene Anna Young – would run the guild that provided the Christmas party each year from 1928 until 1968. Each child received a complete set of clothes – from socks to hat – and a toy at a party hosted on the Saturday before Christmas. This meant that our house looked like Santa’s workshop from immediately after Thanksgiving dinner until the party which was one of the great blessing of my youth and has allowed me a great perspective on Christmas through the years.

Not qualified to be a wise man even then I was relegated to playing Joseph at the living nativity at our church

Not qualified to be a wise man even then I was relegated to playing Joseph at the living nativity at our church

In those happier days even our public school had a Christmas pageant  and while I can't find myself I bet I was on the back row.

In those happier days even our public school had a Christmas pageant and while I can’t find myself I bet I was on the back row.

Even I don't quite believe this picture!

Even I don’t quite believe this picture!

Not yet having a blog I still spread the word to the neighbors that Christmas was here!

Not yet having a blog I still spread the word to the neighbors that Christmas was here!

The former school teacher shares a book with the future blogger and helps create the first known bibliomaniac in the family.

The former school teacher shares a book with the future blogger and helps create the first known bibliomaniac in the family.

wagon1

 

But mothers were important not only for reading but for posing with a fellow next to his new red wagon – and for keeping the boy in the wagon and the dog out!

wagon2

I wanted to play the piano once before...

I wanted to play the piano once before…

...but by the time I received a tanker and a Confederate flag my path was set.

…but by the time I received a tanker and a Confederate flag my path was set.

 

Please Santa just send me a girl like Jeanne...

Please Santa just send me a girl like Jeanne…

 

Santa, I don't even know what one is yet, but please don't give me a blog writer!

Santa, I don’t even know what one is yet, but please don’t give me a blog writer!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

